Goal Planning

I know, I’m a little late. We are half way through January and I am just now finding the time to sit down and contemplate my goals for this year. I have a love/hate relationship with this task because I love making lists and figuring out ways to achieve my goals, but I never know where to start.

Goal setting is one of my fathers favorite things to do in January, so he has been a huge blessing(this is also great father/daughter bonding, which I LOVE). He prompts me by asking questions and by reminding me to keep God’s purpose in mind- not my own. Unfortunately, this year I am already at school as I make this list- so no father/daughter bonding or assistance. 

At the top of my list I wrote one of my favorite Bible verses from Paul, “I run straight to the goal with purpose in every step.” 1 Corinthians 9:26. Each goal should be planned purposefully to bring God glory and with eternity in mind.

 Some of my favorite questions I am usually asked when setting goals are:

  • Do my goals help me know God?
  • Do my goals help me grow in God?
  • Do my goals help me serve God?
  • Do my goals help me share God?
  • Do my goals help me love God?
  • Do my goals help me tell others about God?

Of course I have school goals and goals for life this year, but how I am going to make God the focus of those goals is really the important part. Jeremiah 29:11

In what ways is the Lord going to use me in this year?

 “We can make our plans,
      but the Lord determines our steps.” 
              Proverbs 16:9









One thought on “Goal Planning

  1. Pingback: Opening New Windows | beyond blessed

I LOVE hearing from you! Your comments bless my more than you know :)