Stepping on Some Toes

530193_10151381977506821_1481946823_n

Okay I may be a little bit late for this, but this topic has been so popular lately that I feel as though I can not ignore it. If you disagree with what I am about to say, great! But please don’t stop reading. I would love for you to comment or email me about why you disagree and what you believe. I truly would love to know and understand your reasoning. Because what better way is there for us to grow?

I am a Christian. In saying this I am saying that I have chosen to give up my old self, to turn from my fleshly desires, and to follow Christ. I believe that as a Christian we are called to turn from our sin and repent (Acts 3:19). The Bible does not say that we can have Christ as our Savior but choose to not live for Him. If we want Him as our Savior we must be devoted to Him, we must love Him, we must live for Him. So am I saying that I will never sin again? No, absolutely not. I sin daily; actually I sin multiple times every hour without even trying. But as a follower of Christ I am called to repent (1 John 1:9). This means I am choosing to do my best not to live a sinful lifestyle.

I do believe that everyone has sinned and that all sins deserve punishment (Romans 3:23). Whether it be lying (Colossians 3:9), stealing (Leviticus 19:11), homosexuality (Leviticus 20:13), drunkenness (Galatians 5:21), or whatever your sin of choice is. All sins deserve equal punishment (Romans 6:23). The main difference between lying, stealing, drunkenness and homosexuality is that by living a homosexual lifestyle one is choosing to accept the desires of the flesh. That individual is choosing to not fight their fleshly desires and he/she is choosing to live a lifestyle of sin (Galatians 5:17). Most (not all) other sins are not a lifestyle. As Christians we are called to turn from our fleshly desires and turn towards the things of the Spirit (Romans 8:5).

A lot of people argue that homosexuals are born that way. While I personally have not heard of nor have I found any information backing this up, I believe that it is irrelevant. What I do know is that there are people born with the tendency to be an alcoholic. I have heard of people who are born with the tendency to be a compulsive liar. Does the tendency make it right for them to act on these things? No. Having genes that lean towards these tendencies does not make them good or okay. Regardless of your faith or beliefs, we want to help alcoholics & compulsive liars defeat this struggle. We know that these battles can be self-destructive.

There are a plethora of verses in the Bible that explain what marriage is to look like. The Word tells us that marriage is to be between one man and one woman (1 Corinthians 7:2, Genesis 2:24). And in marriage each spouse has very specific gender related roles (Ephesians 5:32-33, Colossians 3:18). This is what a natural relationship is supposed to look like (Romans 1:27).

The Bible also clearly states what an unnatural relationship looks like. Both the Old and the New Testament state that a man lying with a man or a woman lying with a woman is wrong (Leviticus 18:22, Romans 1:27). We also see in Genesis 19 that God was angry with and destroyed the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah because of their desire to have unnatural relations with males (Genesis 19). Some individuals read this chapter and think that Sodom & Gomorrah were destroyed because the men were wanting to have sex with angels. However, if we go to Jude 1:7 we learn that Sodom & Gomorrah were not the only cities practicing unnatural sexual relations. We see that surrounding cities were practicing homosexual relations just like Sodom & Gomorrah. Therefore this argument has to be negated.

Yes, God is love (Romans 5:8). And He loves His creations. But He hates sin (Psalm 11:5). God calls us to turn from our fleshly desires and repent (John 3).

If you claim to be a Christian, a follower of Christ, you must not only believe that the Bible is the inherent Word of God, but you must cling to its teachings. You must turn from the ways of this world and hold fast to His teachings. You must be born again (John 3:3).

We cannot be hypocrites (Matthew 23:27). If we as Christians are not pointing people to Jesus, pointing people to Truth, are we fulfilling God’s greatest calling on our life (Matthew 28)? Christians are called to love one another enough to call each other to a higher standard (Ephesians 4:25).

“As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” (Proverbs 27:17).

We are all equal at the foot of the cross -men, women, old, young, straight, gay, black and white. It is your choice who you choose to live for. Yourself or Christ

We are all equal at the foot of the cross- men, women, old, young, straight, gay, black, white. It is your choice who you choose to live for. The flesh or the Spirit

If your argument is about the Bible and whether or not it is true I will be doing a blog post about that soon. There are so many historical and archeological facts that prove the Bible’s authenticity it is incredible! Even if I wanted to disprove it I could not.

If you have questions or comments about something else please comment below or email me here.

17 thoughts on “Stepping on Some Toes

  1. Your post is put together wonderfully. It does not bash, but it clearly states your beliefs. I have grown up declaring to everyone that I believe marriage is between a man and woman, and it is an act ordained by God. In my home growing up, on the wall we had a copy of a short document titled “The Family; A Proclamation to the World. This document helped me understand and learn about the importance of the family in God’s plan, and the family starts with Marriage. There are so many Christians who stand behind you Chloe!
    About your paragraph on tendencies people are born with, we believe very similar things. On Tuesday, my church released a statement, we believe “It’s not a sin to have feelings, only in yielding to temptation.” I too believe that people are born with alcoholic, or other tendencies, and it is when they act on those tendencies and give way to sin that they are held accountable. I also think it is important to “love the sinner, not the sin.” As Christians, we should respect all people, and not judge them, just because they sin differently than we do. We can show them love as a human being, while not supporting their actions.

    • Completely agree. My prayer the past few months has been that The Lord would break my heart for what breaks His. Seeing so many Christians posting about their support for homosexual lifestyles and their use of scripture out of context breaks my heart. It’s time we help others understand scripture in context.

  2. Love your explanations and clarity. And I’m so thankful that not one sin is bigger than another, in God’s eyes all is equal and forgiveable. Peace and (real, unconditional) love is possible for anyone who chooses it, and in the end, I feel as though that is all we are looking for – it is what we were created for. It’s a simple choice from the little lies to lifestyle behaviors. Choose the real, true source of unconditional love and acceptance or a lie the world has been selling us for years.

    • You’re right- it is simply a choice. Individuals have the choice to choose to repent and receive unconditional love, or they have the choice to live for their flesh. You can’t have both.

      Check out this source regarding some sins being worse than others. I agree, a sin is a sin. All separate us from God. But there are some sins that are worse than others. http://carm.org/questions/about-sanctification/are-some-sins-worse-others

      Also see Proverbs 6:16-19

      • You and your source are right, God despises anything evil and especially hates actions relished in evil. There is certainly a measuring stick, but only He is the judge.

        My point though, is that at the moment of repentance, there is no measuring stick, praise Jesus. At that moment, no sin is worse than the other, not bigger than another or less forgiveable than another in God’s eyes because of Jesus. True love.

        As humans and even Christians, we tend to want to rate sins much like the Pharisees, but really, aren’t all sins of the flesh, and a lifestyle choice? A person with a small lying problem can have a more wicked heart than someone who has lived in homosexuality for years. Only God can see the heart. And to me, that’s all that matters and I praise Him for that.

  3. Although your post was well written and I can respect your opinion and beliefs, why should one religion make the laws of our country? We live in an amazing country filled with millions of people; people who follow religions all across the map. We do not have a ‘national’ religion, we do not follow one religion specifically and abide by those laws. That’s what makes this country so great. We’re free to speak our minds, as you’ve done here, and we’re free to love who we want. 50 years ago it was illegal to marry someone from another race, now in 2013 you’re not allowed to marry someone of the same gender. What’s the difference? Love is love. We should appreciate the fact that there are thousands of couples in this country who have been together for 1, 5, 10, even 50 years, in happy, loving and monogamous relationships, and it’s unfortunate that these amazing and brave couples can’t solidify their love with a marriage certificate (something that’s given out by the courts, mind you).

    • Chelsey, below is my personal beliefs and is no way connected to Chloe or her blog. ( Chloe I hope I am not overstepping your boundaries) Chelsey, I respect you and your opinions and I have heard many express the same concerns as you. I am sorry this is lengthy. The follow is quoted, because I could not have said it better.
      I oppose the cases because they are trying to redefine marriage, and I feel it important to respect traditional marriage.

      “Marriage is neither a matter of politics, nor is it a matter of social policy. Marriage is defined by the Lord Himself.
      Congress in Washington should not have the authority to revoke the commandments of God, or to modify or amend them in any way.

      Some people promote the idea that there can be two marriages, co-existing side by side, one heterosexual and one homosexual. The hard reality is that, as an institution, marriage like all other institutions can only have one definition without changing the very character of the institution. Hence there can be no coexistence of two marriages. Either there is marriage as it is now defined and as defined by the Lord, or there is what could thus be described as genderless marriage.

      A redefinition of that institution, therefore, redefines it for everyone — not just those who are seeking to have a so-called same gender marriage. It also ignores the definition that the Lord Himself has given.

      There are certain indicia of marriage — certain legal and social consequences and certain legitimacy — which if given to some relationship other than marriage between a man and a woman tend to degrade if not destroy the institution that’s been honored over so many thousands of years.”

    • I completely see where you are coming from. However, if not from God, where did the idea of marriage come from? The government did not instate the idea of marriage. Marriage was defined far before America was created. Changing the definition of marriage is not something that I believe the government should have the authority to change. Marriage is not from the government. See this post for more information http://beyondblessedblog.com/2013/03/30/the-meaning-of-marriage/

      • Marriage turns into a matter of social policy when it determines the types of benefits that you and your partner are able to receive. Do you think everyone deserves the same federal benefits regardless of sexual orientation?

        • Nancy,
          While I do believe that all individuals deserve equal benefits, I do not believe all couples do. Based on the definition of marriage and the original meaning of marriage, I do not believe same sex relationships can be considered a marriage.

  4. Excellent explanation dear! My favorite response is this: We can show them love as a human being, while not supporting their actions. this is exactly how I have been feeling and couldn’t find the words to express it. So proud of you 🙂

I LOVE hearing from you! Your comments bless my more than you know :)

